14 Countries in Latin America: A Comprehensive Guide

Latin America is a vast region of the world, stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of South America. It is home to 33 countries and territories, each with its own unique culture, language, and history. In this article, we will explore the 14 countries in Latin America, their capitals, languages, and other important information. In general, Latin America is understood to consist of the entire continent of South America, in addition to Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean islands.

The peoples of this large area shared the experience of conquest and colonization by Spaniards and Portuguese from the end of the 15th to the 18th century, as well as the independence movements of Spain and Portugal in the early 19th century. Despite the fact that 12 countries share the South American continent, they are very different from each other. For example, there are 9 Spanish-speaking countries in South America; the other 3 countries have Spanish speakers living there, but Spanish is not their official language. South America contains 12 countries and 2 dependencies.

Its total population exceeds 433 million. Brazil is the largest and most populous country in South America, while the British-controlled Malvinas Islands (Falkland Islands) are the least populated and the smallest. The vast majority of South American countries speak Spanish, although the official language of Brazil is Portuguese, French Guiana is French, Suriname is Dutch, Guyana is English and Malvinas Islands is also English. Here are some brief notes on countries and dependencies in South America. Bolivia is a landlocked country located in central South America.

It has a population of approximately 11 million people. The largest city and capital of Bolivia is La Paz. The official language of Bolivia is Spanish, although many indigenous languages are also spoken in the country. The economy of Bolivia is largely based on agriculture and mining. Paraguay is also a landlocked country.

Its population is approximately 7 million, most of which is urban. The largest city and capital of Paraguay is Asunción. The most common indigenous peoples in Paraguay are the Guaraní, although the majority of the country's population is of mixed descent. The Paraguayan economy is still very underdeveloped.

Agriculture is the largest sector of the economy. Paraguay is also rich in hydroelectric energy. Peru is located on the Pacific coast of South America, in the northern half of the continent. In general, the country consists of three geographical regions, including the Andes Mountains, the coast and the Amazon rainforest region. Peru has a population of more than 33 million inhabitants, most of whom live in cities.

The largest population center is the country's capital, Lima, where approximately 7.7 million people live. Spanish is the most widely spoken language in the country, however two indigenous languages, Quechua and Aymara, also have many speakers. Quechua was the language of the pre-Columbian Inca civilization, whose heart was in Peru. Several Inca sites such as Machu Picchu are found in Peru. Uruguay is a small country in southeastern South America on the Atlantic coast. It is located between Brazil to the north and Argentina to the west.

The country has a population of approximately 3.5 million people; about a third of Uruguayans live in Montevideo which is Uruguay's capital city. The overwhelming majority of Uruguayans are of European descent. Uruguay's economy is heavily dependent on exports; beef being its most important export. The British-controlled Malvinas Islands (Falkland Islands) are located off Argentina's south coast; Argentina claims them as its own but was expelled by British forces during its 1982 invasion attempt. The islands consist of two main islands and several smaller ones; their population totals 3,500 inhabitants making them South America's least populated territory. Approximately two-thirds of Falkland Island inhabitants live in Stanley which serves as their capital city. These wars for independence were intended for Latin America to create new nations and break with empires that controlled them; just as United States separated from Great Britain during 1770s. The Spanish empire explored and colonized most Latin American countries while other empires had great influence on people who settled there. Latin American nations tried to maintain peace with rest of world while maintaining their independence. The United States feared that Latin American nations would be influenced by Soviet communist ideals so it took steps to address these threats. In total there are 33 countries in Latin America according to United Nations each independent with its own capitals. An easy way to think about where Latin America lies would be to identify Spanish Portuguese and French speaking countries south United States. Economically Latin American nations have developed more slowly than Europe or United States Canada but recent years have seen an economic boom helping shape many Latin American nations bringing them into digital age. During 19th century Latin American nations were inspired by freedom movements taking place around world beginning fight for their own independence.

List Of 14 Countries In Latin America

  • Mexico
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • El Salvador
  • Costa Rica
  • Panama
  • Belize
  • Haiti
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Jamaica
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Bahamas

Leave Reply

All fileds with * are required